This Blog: The Resurgence

As you may have noticed (if you scroll down to the last post I wrote), I haven’t updated this blog in over a year! Now that I’ve graduated college, I’ve found myself with considerably more free time (when I’m not working) which has resulted in many a crisis on how I should spend it.

Having studied two technical majors in college, I was seldomly provided the opportunity to read or write. I wrote maybe a total of 7 essays and read 4 or so books over the course of 4 years, which is probably less than the average liberal arts major writes and reads per semester per class. I initially started this blog last summer with the intention of writing and furthering my ability to write, yet I found myself without much time to write and without much to say.

Since I’ve started working, I’ve been using a chunk of my free time catching up on 4 years of missed reading, as well as music (new and old), and movies (specifically avant-garde and classics) that I never had the chance to check out. Thus, I’ve decided to use this blog as sort of a chronicle of my thoughts as I embark on this journey to satisfy my free time. I intend to post about final thoughts on books, new earworms and albums, and films that I find interesting and/or exceptional. Of course, everything I write here will be entirely subjective.

The most important point I want to stress however, is that everything I write here is for myself. I’m probably not going to come up with new profound things to say about things long discussed. Chronicling this journey just felt like something I wanted to do regardless if what I say gets read by anyone else. Should anyone find themselves following what I write here, I hope that they take away more than anything else, an inspiration or passion to start reading, writing, listening, and/or watching. Stay tuned!

Leave a comment